Waiting on Wednesday

I hate waiting...
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog post by Jill over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights releases we're eagerly awaiting.


Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl's journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way-by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.



I am absolutely DYING to read this one! I requested it on Edelweiss like 3 or 4 times and was rejected each and every time! I swear I have zero luck on that site! Cannot wait to read it though! Reviews are good and I love a good retelling of Beauty and the Beast!


TITLE: Cruel Beauty
AUTHOR: Rosamund Hodge

PUBLISHER: Balzar & Bray
GENRE: Fantasy YA
RELEASE DATE: January 28, 2014



The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


This is yet ANOTHER title I am anxious to read! And yes, I requested it multiple times on Edelweiss and got multiple rejections as well. Early reviews give this one a bit of promise and I enjoyed Sophie's first YA trilogy, although it seems to be one of those hit or miss trilogies for some people. Oh well! Very eager for this one as well! And it releases the same day as my first pick!


TITLE: Uninvited
AUTHOR: Sophie Jordan

PUBLISHER: HarperTeen
GENRE: YA Fiction? (what to call this since it doesn't seem like a dystopian and def. not a paranormal?)
RELEASE DATE: January 28, 2014





20 comments:

  1. I know right. Waiting is crazy. I believe these two were on Edelweiss. Great choices. I hope you love them when you get them.

    Grace
    Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
  2. Eeep! I can't wait for either of those!! Hope you love them :D Thanks for stopping by m blog!
    Happy reading
    Jackie
    http://nobentspines.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. I honestly don't get why you haven't been approved for any of them :( But, they are worth the wait, especially Cruel Beauty, it's amazing. Hope you enjoy them when you get to read them. :) Happy New Year!

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes, I'm dying to read these books too. Awesome picks.
    My WoW

    Happy New Year!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh both are great choices! can't wait to read them either.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I recently read and reviewed both of these! THEY ARE AMAZING! I loved Cruel Beauty so much. And Uninvited was great! I hope you love both of these.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds good! Hope you get to read it soon!
    Beth @ Free Spirit Books

    ReplyDelete
  8. M again :P Can you email me at byd1119@gmail.com and explain to me how edelweiss works?
    Beth @ Free Spirit Books :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I've seen both of these around quite a bit in the past couple weeks. they both sound amazing!!

    Thanks for stopping by my post!

    My WoW

    Amber @ Paradise of Pages

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oooh both of those are great choices Jessica! I am looking forward to them both!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Aw. Too bad you didn't get approved for either title. At least you don't have much longer to wait. I hope you enjoy reading both books!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Those are both beautiful covers! :)
    I hope you enjoy them when you get a chance to read them!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Cruel Beauty does sound wonderful. And I'm anxious to read Uninvited, myself! :) I hope you get to read them soon!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Both of the books sound good... but I think Cruel Beauty would suit more since I like fairy-tale re-tellings and I kind of liked Graceling too! Here's my WoW

    ReplyDelete
  15. Those covers are gorgeous! I am really excited about reading Uninvited too. Thanks for stopping by my WoW

    ReplyDelete
  16. I LOVE both of your picks. Cruel Beauty is incredible! I have no words for how awesome that book is. Uninvited sounds awesome too and I cannot wait to start it!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
  17. I've heard a few things about both of these books and they sound really interesting! Great picks and thanks for stopping by my WOW! :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. Both of these are great picks! I have both as eARCs and I'm hoping to get to them soon. I'm so excited to read them!

    Tressa @ Tressa's Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
  19. Yes, Yes, and Yes!! I want to read both of these :D Excellent choices! Jaclyn @ JC's Book Haven.

    ReplyDelete

Comments are an award all on their own! So my blog is an award free one! Thanks for any consideration though!