Mini Review--Unite Me : Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.


PART 1 of my review:

So I'm going to read the Shatter Me books in order, novellas included. I only read Destroy Me in this Tahereh Mafi's Unite Me and all I can say is wow! I think I finally get why everyone was so over the moon with Warner! He didn't really impress me too much in Shatter Me, kind of skeeved me out. But getting inside his head in Destroy Me, totally changed my opinion of him.

Warner's father is the new world leader while Warner only reigns over Sector 45 and when his father comes to help him out the "mess" he made, he's anything but happy. And yeah, his father? Not winning any father of the year awards anytime soon. It kind of makes sense for Warner's own character, but Warner still takes you by surprise.

He uncovers Juliette's diary and begins to read it. Not only does he get a better understanding of Juliette, but we also learn more about him. We learn that he's been watching Juliette all along via camera in her prison cell. Still extremely creepy, but yet this is how he falls in love with her. He watches her try to keep her sanity while locked away from everyone and everything.

Warner just completely took me by surprise. For we really do get to see another side to Warner. Perhaps his true self. He's not a monster like we were led to believe and we even learn about the solider he shot point blank in front of Juliette!

Destroy Me is definitely a MUST read if you've read Shatter Me and felt hesitant about moving forward. I plan to read Unravel Me next, then I'll come back to this to read Fracture Me, which as you may already know, is Adam's thoughts after Unravel Me!


Rating 5/5 stars




3 comments:

  1. Destroy Me was absolutely perfect, I loved it!
    -Scott Reads It

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree, this is a must read because getting into Warner's head is kind of important to understand. I can't wait for you to read the rest. I LOVE this series!

    ReplyDelete
  3. TEAM WARNER FOREVERRR. This one was such a game changer for me, I'm glad to see that you loved it! I liked Shatter Me but didn't love it, so when I read this one - like you said - Warner really took me by surprise. And after reading it, I couldn't stop thinking about it, thinking about him. Then I read Unravel Me and LOVED it! I'm so impressed by how much Tahereh improved between book 1 and 2!

    ReplyDelete

Comments are an award all on their own! So my blog is an award free one! Thanks for any consideration though!