Mini Review--Unite Me : Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam's more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.


PART 2

Fracture Me is Tahereh Mafi's second novella and this time we get Adam's point of view during the tail end of Unravel Me and what happened after he and Juliette got separated.

It was strange being in Adam's mind, it definitely gave me a new perspective of Juliette. Where I thought she was doing better and acting a little less spastic, Adam kind of sees her as not. Or possibly chalking up her recent behavior to nerves. He does still love her and care for her though, for at this point he's struggling to do better so that they can be together. In some ways, I find myself wondering if he really does care for her so deeply. He worries over her constantly, almost to the point where you wonder if he sees her as a child needing to be cared for, like James, and that's why he wants to keep her.

After they get separated Kenji is all about going after her, she's one of their own after all, but Adam wants to go back for his brother. It even proves necessary as the enemy is moving in on the location of Omega Point, where James and many other of their friends who were unable to fight wait. Now here, I can understand Adam wanting to go for his brother first, he's family after all. But then once everyone gathers together, he wants everyone to come with him. He wants Kenji to come with him, instead of going after Juliette.

It almost makes me wonder what does he really feel for her? He's so reluctant to go after her, he believes her safe with Warner since Warner has her--even though we know better.

This was yet another fast paced read and a definite insight to the mind of Adam Kent. Definitely changed my perspective of him. 

Now as to the bonus content of Unite Me, I was a mite disappointed in it. Juliette's journal turned out to be pretty much all the excerpts we've read before. Which I kind of figured. But I was hoping that they might at least be in chronological order as to when she wrote them. When what is clearly the first entry is somewhere in the middle of all the excerpts. The only reason why I bought this paperback edition was because it was cheaper than buying two ebooks. Amazon had it on sale and I thought why not? Plus I was curious over the bonus content and hoping for something new, possibly. But I don't regret buying it. Still got to read the novellas!

Rating 4/5 stars, as I was kind of upset with Adam by the end and some of his thought patterns towards Juliette.

Overall Rating for Unite Me 4/5 stars



 


2 comments:

  1. Another series I have yet to read! I have books one and two, and I want this one and book three just because O_O I need to read the series! It sounds like I wouldn't be Team Adam so... Team Warner it is! I'm glad that the book was worth the buy, even if some of the content was not new. Fantastic review, Jessica!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think I really should have read this novella. I read Destroy Me from Warner's POV and that was when I really started understanding his character, probably should have done the same with Adam's so Ignire Me wasn't such a huge shock. Can't wait to see what you think of the boys in the final book ;)

    ReplyDelete

Comments are an award all on their own! So my blog is an award free one! Thanks for any consideration though!