Jan 12, 2013

Review--The Iron Legends by Julie Kagawa

Enter the world of the internationally bestselling Iron Fey series. Dangerous faeries. Heartbreaking romance. Thrilling action and limitless adventure. The world of the fey has never been so powerful. This collection includes three novellas set in the world of the Iron Fey plus the Guide to the Iron Fey with exclusive information about Julie Kagawa's unforgettable world of Faery.

Winter's Passage

Never make a promise to a faery. They always come to collect. Now Meghan Chase must fulfill her promise to Prince Ash of the Winter Court and embark upon a dangerous journey into the heart of enemy territory—while being pursued by a relentless new foe and guarding her own foolish heart.

Summer's Crossing

What can turn enemies into reluctant allies? A call from the Exile Queen, Leanansidhe, ties legendary prankster Puck to his archenemy, Prince Ash, on a journey that may end in betrayal and will set them both on an irreversible path.

Iron's Prophecy

Before she ever knew what she might become, Iron Queen Meghan Chase was warned by the oracle that her firstborn child would bring nothing but grief. And even as Meghan and Ash celebrate their long-awaited union, the prophecy stirs.…

Three Iron Fey novellas for the first time in print!

So I bought this one to have print copies of Julie Kagawa's previous novellas and to get her latest one Iron's Prophecy. But The Iron Legends also comes with a nice survivor's guide to the series as well.

I have read the first two novellas already, Summer's Crossing may have a review somewhere here on the blog and Winter's Passage might not because that may have been during my blogging lapse. So this will be a review mostly of Iron's Prophecy and the survival's guide.

I already read The Lost Prince, so backtracking for Iron's Prophecy was a bit of struggle, but not much of one! Here we learn of the prophecy of Meghan's child that we meet in TLP. And wow! What Meghan learns in this little novella, just wow! I sooo didn't know this at the time of reading TLP and now things that I can recall happening in TLP totally make sense now! 

Basically, in this novella Meghan and Ash are joined by Puck to go see the oracle who has seen the prophecy regarding Meghan's child. The three take a harrying journey complete with a snake guarding the Wishing Tree that is their destination to get to the oracle. Or yeah, and Grim is there too, as their guide! Which was quite fun too since I love that cait sith!

The last part of the novel was a survival guide to the world of Faery. It was quite extensive and very educational, should one want knowledge of that world! And it's even complete with commentary from Grim too! Which made for some laughs!

There was a brief guide on what not to do, what to pack and other survivor's tips. There's also a character key complete with bios on all the main and side characters. A key to all the places in this world and why it is basically in your best interests to avoid such places. All in all, a very educational guide and it was fun to be able to visit the Faery world again in this manner.

This was a quick read for me since I only read about half of it, having read the other half previously! I couldn't bring myself to do the quote/trivia quiz on who said this in what book and where since I haven't read the books in so long. Plus there have been hundreds of books in between then too!

If you love the Iron Fey Chronicles then I highly recommend getting this one! Not only do you get the three novellas in print together, but as I said there's the exclusive content to the Iron Fey world that you won't get anywhere else! And as an added bonus, there are a few pieces of Julie's artwork for the Iron Fey characters in these pages as well!

Overall rating 5/5 stars


  1. I just finished reading this series and all the books are amazing! It's a must-read!

  2. looking forward to biting into this series XD


Comments are an award all on their own! So my blog is an award free one! Thanks for any consideration though!